It’s not about Attraction but rather about Interaction

Daily Prompt: Personal Space
To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?

421495_261090947303964_1378210404_n2

My blog is my self-expression as well as my interaction zone . I created this blog to express my thoughts. Yet, had I wanted to keep my thoughts for myself, I would’ve written them down in a personal journal and when done made sure that it was well locked! But, my aim was to share my thoughts. Nevertheless, I not only wanted to share my thoughts with a limited number of people, for in that case I would’ve resorted to some personal notes on my facebook page and limited access to some friends and acquaintances. However,  I wanted to express my thoughts and I wanted to express them out loud. I wanted for my voice to reach globally, and therefore, I decided to start blogging.

My blog posts initially were few, and they all fitted into one category. Back then, I just blogged whenever I had a thought in mind. Gradually, I started to discover more. I discovered, for instance, that I like to sometimes express myself in photos, and that sometimes a photo can speak out as loud as words and even more; consequently I started the category: A Picture May Speak Louder Than Words. With time, other categories were also born. The interaction with other bloggers was limited at first. Then, I started reaping the fruits. I started visiting other blogs, following some, commenting on posts, and the interaction with others started to grow. Then one day, I discovered The Daily Post on WordPress, and this was the point when I reached my blogging peak (until now of course 🙂 ). I started to participate in prompts and challenges. This greatly increased my blog visitors and followers and introduced me, in turn, to new interesting blogs.

If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it? My answer to that is simply: It’s not about “Attraction” but rather about “Interaction”. My blog posts have always been triggerred by a thought or feeling that I needed to express. Moreover, I just love when other bloggers, from different countries and origins, comment on my posts for it implies that I was able to reach them, and that they can relate to me, and hence my Interaction aim is fulfilled.

My blog description reads: An expression of random thoughts inspired by deep feelings…  I strongly believe that you can skyrocket your blog readership by publishing a great post…. and what post is greater than a thought inspired by deep feelings?

12 thoughts on “It’s not about Attraction but rather about Interaction

  1. I feel the same but I suppose one has to attract in order to interact or vice versa, I know what you mean – Vee:

    1. Hey Vee..sure it’s loop-like, you interact with those you attract I guess…but still my priority remains Interaction. Thanks for stopping by. Hope we interact again soon 🙂

  2. Wow! What a great read. I thoroughly enjoyed how you have managed to keep things at a deep level and kept that as not only what is important to you but also what has kept your readers reading and interacting with you. Being at the start of that type of interaction myself, I am finding it fun and startling to see just how many people there are that so eloquently and diversely express their feelings, thoughts, opinions, etc. Thanks for a pleasant walk through what this space is to you.
    Easter Ellen

  3. The interaction component was a pleasant surprise for me. I started blogging for an avenue of expression, but I am finding that the interaction with other bloggers is very rewarding. I look forward to reading more from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

