Exiled but Survived

 

Daily Prompt: Five a Day

You’ve being exiled to a private island, and your captors will only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

Bali, Indonesia
Bali, Indonesia

I couldn’t resist smiling when I first read this prompt, for I thought: What an irony; many times, when overwhelmed with stress, we wish that we get abandoned on an island and have no more contact with any being, yet we fail to consider some potential consequences of our “wish coming true”, some of which might be as basic as: What am I going to eat??!! One thing for sure,  life will never be stress free, and thus it might be a good idea to take some time and think about that now 🙂 So what foods would I pick??

The first thing that comes to mind is that fatty, un-nutritional, EXTRA YUMMY fast food list of bacon, burger, fries, chips and chocolate chunks. However, thinking it over,  I really don’t think I need all this fat to stuff my arteries with when I hardly believe that I will be able to find a cardiologist who’s on-call on the island. So, alternatively, I’ll be more wise to choose some survival foods:

1-      Water: Staying hydrated is definitely my number one survival target.

2-      Beans:  In addition to being an excellent source of calcium and iron, once dried, beans keep for a long time which makes them a “versatile island food”.  As for Flatulence? I guess my captors will just have to live with it 🙂

3-      Fish: Quite a good number should be swimming around on the island! This will be my source of vitamin B12, protein and healthy fat. I hope I’ll be lucky enough to be offered Salmon 🙂

Now the following two foods of choice may not be on a nutritionist’s Top 10 Survival Foods List, but they definitely are on mine 🙂

4-      Coffee: I literally can’t function without it!

5-      Chocolate:   I’ll ask for loads of dark chocolate. Wait, “dark” is the keyword here 🙂  It’s got health benefits and is for no doubt a great mood booster. As for the “loads”, last time I checked, the prompt didn’t mention anything regarding quantities 🙂

2 thoughts on “Exiled but Survived

Leave a Reply

